So, why are you talking about video games?

Perhaps more than anything this shows my own insecurities about my love of games more than anything… But I write about videogames in this art journal too because, well, they are the art I interact with most. I’m sure movie buffs write about movies, and fantasy novel fans about fantasy novels in their journals. Because our art is influenced by the mediums most important to us in a consuming sense (people often create in a different medium to the one they love consuming).

While I’m not doing a great job, by putting these kind of things in my journal I hope that I can be bringing video games into the discussion better, given this is easily the most important medium of this century (movies the last) and in the last 10 years have really been proving themselves consistently as a viable medium for expression of something deeper than kill 10 rats (MMORPG reference). Since no one else really seems to be passionate about bringing them to the conversation in the art school, I suppose I have to in some sense.

I don’t believe a modern art education can be viable without any discussion of videogames. I don’t mean to say we need lots of units on it, but we’ve looked in some way at films, music and various multimedia arts through my time at the art school. But outside of one off hand comment in a crit, I’ve never heard anyone other than myself bring them up.

I hope this changes. And it should with time naturally, by the time the people who grew up with PS2s (the first generation of consoles that people started doing serious things consistently) come into the artschool in 10 years or so, video games should be brought into the discussion more. However the chance to bring that discussion to the coming years as opposed to the later years is something I should have been pursuing in year 1 or 2, not 3. But I’ll do so now as I don’t have the chance later.

About link6616

I am an Assistant Language teacher on the JET Program living in Shikoku Japan. I love games, photography, Japan and musicals!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

